Indiana University


The Indiana University School of Medicine believes that honoring the outstanding teaching, research, and service of our faculty and staff is an important part of our culture. 

Indiana University School of Medicine Endowed Awards

Steven C. Beering Award for Advancement of Biomedical Science Recipients

Given out since 1984, this year marks the 28th anniversary of the Steven C. Beering Award for Advancement of Biomedical Science.Click below to see the list of Beering award recipients, four of whom went on to win the Nobel Prize.

Mark Brothers Award

Dr. and Mrs. Guey C. Mark created the endowed Mark Brothers Lectureship to recognize nationally and internationally renowned medical scientists of Asian descent.  The Mark Brothers Lectureship was established in 1997 in honor of Dr. Mark’s brothers, who immigrated from Canton and settled in South Bend, Indiana, where they built a successful restaurant business. 

Indiana University School of Medicine Awards

Trustees Teaching Award

Each year, the Indiana University Board of Trustees recognizes excellence in teaching through a program known as the Trustees’ Teaching Awards. Recipients of this prestigious award receive a $2,500 bonus, have their names displayed on a plaque, and are recognized at the Medical School Commencement in May. Approximately 48 outstanding IUSM teachers receive the award each year.

Mentoring Awards

Mentoring among faculty at IUSM is a crucial element in sustaining a vital faculty community, promoting faculty development, and increasing faculty retention.  The creation of two annual “Excellence in Faculty Mentoring” awards at IUSM underscores the commitment to endorse mentoring within our faculty.

Campus-Wide Awards

IU School of Medicine faculty are eligible for a variety of campus-wide awards in teaching, civic engagement, diversity, mentoring, and research conferred by IUPUI.  Nominations for these awards are usually due each January.  For more information, visit the IUPUI Office of Faculty Appointments and Advancement (FAA).

University-Wide Awards

Indiana University recognizes the accomplishments of outstanding faculty in a number of ways throughout the year, especially at Founders Day celebrations in the spring, which mark the institution's anniversary.  University-wide awards for distinguished professorships, teaching awards, and outstanding service contributions are conferred by the Office of University Ceremonies.  Nominations for these awards are usually due each October.  For more details, visit the Office of University Ceremonies.