Mark Brothers Award

greyDr. and Mrs. Guey C. Mark created the endowed Mark Brothers Lectureship to recognize nationally and internationally renowned medical scientists of Asian descent.  The Mark Brothers Award was established in 1997 in honor of Dr. Mark’s brothers, who immigrated from Canton and settled in South Bend, Indiana, where they built a successful restaurant business.  The brothers, because of their reverence and respect for higher education, supported their youngest brother, Dr. Mark, in his pursuit of a career in medicine.  The award is presented annually and consists of a plaque and a prize of $4,000.  Dr. Mark was a member of the School of Medicine’s Class of 1954 and he passed away August 4, 2010.

2017 Awardee: Augustine M.K. Choi, M.D.

The 2017 Mark Brothers Award will be presented to Augustine M.K. Choi, M.D., Sanford I. Weill Chairman of Medicine, Joan and Sanford I. Weill Department of Medicine, Weill Cornell Medical College. The Mark Brothers awardee will present his lecture “Can inhaled carbon monoxide at physiologic dose be a therapy in human disease?” on Monday, March 6 from 3 p.m. to 4:15 p.m. at the Walther Hall (R3) Room 203. Reception immediately following.

Come back a few days before the lecture for the link to watch the live stream lecture!

Click Here to Register!

Click Here to watch the live stream presentation.

Nominations now closed for the 2017.

Please send all nominations for 2018 to by Friday November 2, 2018.  Nominations should be accompanied by a summary statement emphasizing the most important academic accomplishment(s) of the nominee, importance to biomedical or clinical science, and why you believe he/she is deserving of this honor.

Please include the following in the nomination packet:

  • Summary Statement
  • Curriculum Vitae
  • List of Key Publications

For questions, please contact Lauren Maric, Events Coordinator for Faculty Affairs and Professional Development at or call (317) 278-3089.

Past Winners

2016 Anindya Dutta, Ph.D., Harry F. Byrd Professor and Chair of Biochemistry and Molecular Genetics, Professor of Pathology at University of Virginia, School of Medicine.
2015 Kun-Liang Guan, Ph.D., Distinguished Professor, Department of Pharmacology and Moores Cancer Center, University of California, San Diego.
2014 Dean Y. Li, M.D. Ph.D., Associate Vice President for Research and Chief Scientific Officer, Health Sciences; Vice Dean for Research, School of Medicine; Director, University of Utah Molecular Medicine (U2M2) Program; HA and Edna Benning Endowed  Professor of Medicine and Cardiology, University of Utah
2013 Jayakrishna Ambati, MD, Professor of Ophthalmology & Visual Sciences and Physiology at the University of Kentucky
2012 Victor Ling, O.C., O.B.C., Ph.D., President and Scientific, Terry Fox Research Institute. Senior Scientist, BC Cancer Agency, Professor, Department of Pathology & Laboratory, and Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology, University of British Columbia Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
2011 Karen Hsiao Ashe, M.D., Ph.D., Professor, Department of Neurology & Neuroscience; Edmund Wallace and Anne Marie Tulloch Chairs in Neurology & Neuroscience; Director, N. Bud Grossman Center for Memory Research and Care; University of Minnesota, Minneapolis, MN
2010 Dr. Freddie Fu, Professor and Chairman, Department of Orthopedic Surgery, University of Pittsburgh School of Medicine, Pittsburgh, PA
2009 Dr. Sankar Mitra, Professor and Vice Chair, Department of Biochemistry, and Molecular Biology; Professor, Department of Radiation Oncology; Senior Scientist, Sealy Center for Molecular Medicine; The University of Texas Medical Branch, Galveston, TX
2008 Dr. Tom Lue, Professor and Vice Chair; Emil Tanagho Endowed Chair in Clinical Research Department of Urology, and Medical Director, Knuppe Molecular Urology Laboratory, Mt. Zion Medical Center; University of California, San Francisco
2007 Dr. Lawrence Chan, Betty Rutherford Chair for Diabetes Research; and Chief of Diabetes, Endocrinology and Metabolism; and Professor of Medicine and of Molecular and Cellular Biology; Baylor University; Houston, TX.
2005–06 Dr. Ting Kai Li, Director, National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism. (Selected in 2005 but lecture given in 2006 to accommodate Dr. Li.)
2004 Dr. Kenneth Randall Chien, Professor of Medicine; American Heart Association Endowed Chair in Cardiovascular Research (California Affiliate); Co-Director, Cardiovascular Center; Director, Institute of Molecular Medicine; University of California, San Diego; Professor, Salk Institute (Adjunct).
2003 Dr. Chi Van Dang, Professor of Medicine, Cell Biology and Anatomy, Oncology and Pathology, and Vice Dean for Research, School of Medicine, Johns Hopkins University, Baltimore, Maryland.
2002 Dr. David D. Ho, Scientific Director, Chief Executive Officer and Professor, Aaron Diamond AIDS Research Center, The Rockefeller University.
2000–01 Victor J. Dzau, Chair, Department of Medicine, Brigham and Women’s Hospital; Director of Research, Brigham and Women’s Hospital; and Hersey Professor of Theory and Practice of Physic, Harvard Medical School. (Selected in 2000 but lecture given in 2001 to accommodate Dr. Dzau.)
1999 Dr. Ming T. Tsuang, Stanley Cobb Professor of Psychiatry; Director, Harvard Institute of Psychiatric Epidemiology and Genetics; and Superintendent and Head, Harvard Department of Psychiatry at Massachusetts Mental Health Center.
Recipients in bold are also winners of the Nobel Prize for Medicine