The Indiana University School of Medicine believes that honoring outstanding teaching, research, and service is an important part of our culture.

School-Wide Faculty Awards

Excellence in Faculty Mentoring Awards
Mentoring among faculty at IUSM is a crucial element in sustaining a vital faculty community, promoting faculty development, and increasing faculty retention.  The  Excellence in Faculty Mentoring Awards underscores our commitment to endorse mentoring among our faculty. These awards recognize the outstanding mentoring efforts of one clinician and one basic scientist each year that actively mentor other faculty members and learners. Nominations for these awards are due July 28, 2017.

Inspirational Educator Award
The purpose of the inspirational educator award is to recognize faculty who inspire their learners and motivate them to work hard and achieve more than they thought possible on their own. This prestigious award acknowledges the time and dedication faculty take to be exceptional teachers. Nominations for this award are due July 28, 2017.

Scholar Educator Award
The purpose of the scholar educator award is to recognize faculty who go beyond simply teaching and approach education in scholarly manner. This prestigious award acknowledge faculty who approach teaching and learning from a scholarly lens.  Nominations for this award are due July 28, 2017.

Outstanding Community Engagement Award
The Faculty Community Relations Committee (FCRC) Award for Outstanding Community Engagement was established to recognize and encourage exceptional community engagement by IUSM faculty in activities such as, but not limited to, volunteerism, community based learning or research, outreach, partnerships, and curricular engagement. Nominations for this award are due July 28, 2017.

Trustees Teaching Awards (TTA)
Each year, the Indiana University Board of Trustees recognizes excellence in teaching through a program known as the Trustees’ Teaching Awards. Recipients of this prestigious award receive a $2,500 bonus, have their names displayed on a plaque, and are recognized at the Medical School Commencement in May. Approximately 48 outstanding IUSM teachers receive the award each year. Nominations for this award are due February 2, 2018.  Click here to see the 2016 TTA Recipients.

Campus-Wide Faculty Awards

IU School of Medicine faculty are eligible for a variety of campus-wide awards in teaching, civic engagement, diversity, mentoring, and research conferred by IUPUI.  For more information, visit the IUPUI Office of Faculty Appointments and Advancement (FAA).

University Distinguished Professorships & Teaching Awards

University-wide awards for distinguished professorships, teaching awards, and outstanding service contributions are conferred by the Office of University Ceremonies.  For more details, visit the Office of University Ceremonies.

Endowed Awards (for external recipients)

Steven C. Beering Award for Advancement of Biomedical Science Recipients
Given out since 1984, the Steven C. Beering Award for Advancement of Biomedical Science honors an internationally recognized individual for outstanding research contributions to the advancement of biomedical or clinical science. Click above to see the list of Beering award recipients, six of whom have gone on to win the Nobel Prize.  Nominations for this award are due November 3, 2017.

Mark Brothers Award
Dr. and Mrs. Guey C. Mark created the endowed Mark Brothers Lectureship to recognize nationally and internationally renowned medical scientists of Asian descent.  The Mark Brothers Lectureship was established in 1997 in honor of Dr. Mark’s brothers, who immigrated from Canton and settled in South Bend, Indiana, where they built a successful restaurant business. Nominations for this award are due November 3, 2017.