Department Chair, Radiology and Imaging Sciences

Indiana University (IU) School of Medicine, a national leader in research, education, and clinical care, is announcing the search for Chair of the Department of Radiology and Imaging Sciences. This is an extraordinary opportunity for a visionary leader to provide strategic leadership for all aspects of the Department, including education, research, and clinical care. The Chair will be responsible for ensuring the department continues to grow as a national leader, while advancing science and improving health outcomes through scientific collaboration, strategic research expansion, and innovative clinical operations strategy.

Radiology and Imaging Sciences

Fostering education and professional growth for the next generation of radiologists

The Department of Radiology and Imaging Sciences at Indiana University School of Medicine continues to strengthen the education, research and clinical programs it offers while fortifying the alignment between the IU School of Medicine and IU Health/ IU Health Physicians. The department is expanding research infrastructure, training the next generation of health care providers, and recruiting new talent to improve population health in Indiana and beyond.

As part of the department’s core areas of focus, expert radiology teaching faculty are applying new imaging techniques and technologies as well as minimally invasive image-guided procedures to improve health care delivery with a strong focus on quality, safety and outcomes.

Search Committee

Mary Dankoski, PhD (Co-Chair)
Executive Associate Dean for Faculty Affairs, Professional Development & Diversity
Lester D. Bibler Professor of Family Medicine

Peter Pang, MD (Co-Chair)
Chair, Department of Emergency Medicine
Rolly McGrath Professor of Emergency Medicine
Professor of Medicine

Vasantha Aaron, MD
Associate Professor of Clinical Radiology & Imaging Sciences
Molecular Imaging & Therapeutics Division
Associate Service Line Leader
Vice Chair of Clinical Services

Karl Bilimoria, MD, MS

Chair, Department of Surgery
Jay Grosfeld Professor of Surgery
Executive Director, Surgical Outcomes and Quality Improvement Center (SOQIC)
System Vice President for Surgical Quality, IU Health

Naga Chalasani, MD
David W. Crabb Professor of Gastroenterology and Hepatology
Professor of Medicine
Adjunct Professor of Anatomy, Cell Biology & Physiology
Vice President for Academic Affairs, Indiana University Health

Rohan Dharmakumar, PhD, MSC
Charles Fisch Endowed Chair in Cardiology
Executive Director, Krannert Cardiovascular Research Center
Professor of Medicine, Radiology & Imaging Sciences, Anatomy, Cell Biology & Physiology (Adj)
Director for Cardiovascular Imaging Research, Indiana Institute for Biomedical Imaging Sciences
Associate Director for Research IU Health/IUSM Cardiovascular Institute
Indiana University School of Medicine
Professor of Biomedical Engineering (Adj), Purdue University

Michael Feldman, MD, PhD
Professor of Pathology
Incoming chair of Pathology, IU School of Medicine
Manwaring Professor of Pathology

Shannon Risacher, PhD
Associate Professor of Radiology & Imaging Sciences

Yu-Chien Wu, MD, PhD
Associate Professor of Radiology & Imaging Sciences
Showalter Scholar (2021-2024)
Associate Professor of Radiology and Imaging Sciences
Scientific Director, In-Vivo Imaging Core
Scientific Director, Roberts Translational Imaging Facility, Starks Neurosciences Research Institute

Rich Zellars, MD
Chair, Department of Radiation Oncology
William A. Mitchell Professor of Radiation Oncology