Visit the Indiana University website.
Indiana University School of Medicine
Faculty Development News
May 2016

In this mini-webinar, presenters and participants will discuss strategies for increasing interactivity, developing community, efficiently handling logistics, and incorporating technology to minimize the challenges of teaching a large class. This webinar is sponsored by the IUPUI Center for Teaching and Learning.

Wednesday, June 8
11:30 a.m. - 12:30 p.m.
Online- Adobe Connect


Back by popular demand! This three-session series is designed to train participants to communicate complex scientific topics more effectively to non-experts like patients, learners, lawmakers, and funders. This program is free and open to all IUSM and IUPUI faculty and graduate students.

All participants are asked to commit to the entire three workshop series, as each session builds upon the previous. Please note, if you register for this event, you will be registered for all three sessions.

The Communicating Science program is part of IU's affiliation with the Alan Alda Center for Communicating Science, in partnership with the IUPUI Center for Teaching and Learning and the IUPUI School of Science.

Register for the Three-Workshop Series»

The Indiana University School of Medicine believes that honoring outstanding teaching, research, and service is an important part of our culture. Submit nominations for the following awards:

  • Scholar-Educator Award
  • Excellence in Faculty Mentoring Awards
  • Outstanding Community Engagement Award
  • Inspirational Educator Award

Submit Nominations to by Friday, July 29

Submit Nominations»

OFAPD is now soliciting applications for this year’s Leadership in Academic Medicine Program (LAMP). LAMP is a cohort-based, yearlong faculty development and orientation program designed for faculty in the 2nd and 3rd years of their appointment.

To apply, submit a one-page document describing your career goals and what you most want to accomplish in the next three years, along with a brief statement of support from your chair or division director.

Submit via email to by Friday, July 29.

More Information»

What's the right graph for your data? How can a chart help to convey your message?

Although widely used in research to analyze and communicate data, graphs and charts are often poorly mastered by researchers. Based on Dr. Jean-luc Doumont's popular book, Trees, Maps, and Theorems, this workshop will provide attendees the skills needed to:

  • Select the appropriate type of image for a given data set and research question
  • Optimize a graph's layout to reveal a study's outcomes
  • Write a caption that is useful for the researcher and reader

Thursday, August 18
5:15 p.m. - 7:00 p.m.
Glick Eye Institute (GK) 103

Register »

This seminar comprehensively addresses both conceptual and practical aspects of the grant-writing process. All participants will receive light breakfast, boxed lunch, and a copy of The Grant Application Writer's Workbook.

Tuesday, August 30
8:30 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Walther Hall (R3) 203
Register »
Jerome M. Adams, M.D. • Carla J. Aldrich, Ph.D. • Matthew R. Allen, Ph.D. • Mark E. Bauman, M.D. • David R. Bell, Ph.D. • Gabriel T. Bosslet, M.D. • Howard S. Boswell Jr., M.D. • John M. Chambers III, M.D. • Joseph M.B. Croffie, M.D. • Stephen F. Echtenkamp, Ph.D. • James D. Forney, Ph.D. • Thomas G. Fox, M.D. • Warren B. Gavin, M.D. • Gregory P. Gramelspacher, M.D. • Richard B. Gunderman, M.D., Ph.D. • Dipika Gupta, Ph.D. • Richa Gupta, M.D. • Paul R. Helft, M.D. • Ruben H. Hernandez, M.D. • Michael J. Hobson, M.D. • Martin Kaefer, M.D. • Kenneth A. Kesler, M.D. • Michael W. King, Ph.D. • Abigail F. Klemsz, M.D., Ph.D. • Michael D. Litt, Ph.D. • Tao Lu, Ph.D. • Kandice K. Ludwig, M.D. • James F. Malec, Ph.D. • Bruce J. Martin, Ph.D. • Alice M. Mitchell, M.D. • Robert M. Pascuzzi, M.D. • Katie E. Pettit, M.D. • Cory J. Pitre, M.D. • Maria C. Poor, M.D. • Peter J. Roach, Ph.D. • Jason T. Schaffer, M.D. • Emily K. Scott, M.D. • Javier F. Sevilla-Martir, M.D. • Marcia L. Shew, M.D. • Ronald L. Shew, Ph.D. • Charles M. Shufflebarger, M.D. • Arjun D. Sinha, M.D. • Riley J. Snook, M.D. • Roopa A. Subbarao, M.D. • Paula D. Sullivan, Ph.D. • Tracy C. Vargo-Gogola, Ph.D. • Gabi N. Waite, Ph.D. • Emily C. Webber, M.D. • Julie L. Welch, M.D. • Donald Wong, Ph.D.
More Information»
Unsubscribe | Forward Message
Indiana University School of Medicine Office of Faculty Affairs and Professional Development (OFAPD)
Fairbanks Hall | 340 W. 10th Street | Suite 6200 | Indianapolis, IN | 46202-3082 | (317) 278-3089
Images © IU Communications