If you cannot view this email, please click here to view it as a web page.

Faculty Development Newsletter

Aug, 2013

New Faculty Events for Those Hired in the Past Year

Tuesday, August 13 | 11:30 am – 4:00 pm | Hine Hall (University Place Hotel), President's Room

All faculty members hired in the past year are invited to attend the IU School of Medicine New Faculty Luncheon and IUPUI New Faculty Welcome on Tuesday, August 13.  Attendees will receive important information regarding promotion and tenure, faculty development, and campus resources. 

learn more and register >>

Deadline for LAMP Applications: Friday, August 2

The deadline for submitting applications and support materials for the Leadership in Academic Medicine Program is Friday, August 2.  LAMP is a year-long faculty development program for second and third year junior faculty at the Indiana University School of Medicine. The monthly seminars introduce participants to the fundamentals of career planning, self-management and leadership skills.

The 2013-2014 curriculum includes sessions specifically designed for both clinicians and research faculty. In addition to the monthly seminars, participants develop a career plan and meet with a senior-level faculty member who serves as a coach throughout the program.  Because of the time investment required for LAMP, we ask that all applicants solicit a letter of support from their chair or division director. 

learn more and Apply >

Team Science Town Hall

Monday, September 9 | 8:00 am– 9:30 am | Walther Hall (R3) 303/305

Dr. Michelle Bennett, a national expert on collaboration in the sciences, will present this town hall meeting.  Dr. Bennett will share best practices within team science, as well as offer her own experiences.  She will answer faculty questions and offer suggestions for building and maintaining effective teams. 
Topics addressed will include

  • Developing agreements among scientific collaborators
  • Team science in the P&T process
  • How to evaluate individual members' contributions to team goals. 

learn more Register >>

Save the Date for IUSM Award Lectures!


Mark Brothers Award

Monday, October 7 & Tuesday, October 8

The 2013 Mark Brothers Award will be presented to Jayakrishna Ambati, MD, Professor of Ophthalmology & Visual Sciences and Physiology at the University of Kentucky.

learn more Register >>

Steven C. Beering Award

Tuesday, October 29 & Wednesday, October 30

The 2013 Steven C. Beering Award will be presented to Roger J. Davis, PhD, Professor of Molecular Medicine and Biochemistry & Molecular Biology at University of Massachusetts Medical School.

learn more Information >>

Unsubscribe | Share

Office of Faculty Affairs and Professional Development (OFAPD)
Fairbanks Hall | 340 W. 10th Street | Suite 6200 | Indianapolis, IN | 46202-3082 | (317) 278-3089