The Evans Fellowship in Healthcare Leadership provides funding for the full tuition and fees to complete the Business of Medicine Physician MBA program from the IU Kelley School of Business, along with extensive coaching, networking, and mentoring opportunities. The application deadline is March 6th annually.

Apply Now

Program Purpose

Academic health centers in the United States are under enormous pressure, facing fundamental changes in core incentives in the payment structure and have substantial opportunities for improvement in the quality of care. In addition to this major restructuring of the clinical mission, the education and research missions are similarly challenged by resource constraints and rapid cycles of change. In order to navigate these complex issues, Indiana University School of Medicine and Indiana University Health need physicians in administrative positions that are well-prepared to provide effective, strategic leadership.

Named in honor of Daniel F. Evans, Jr., JD, President Emeritus of Indiana University Health, the Evans Fellowship program is designed to provide a mid/senior physician faculty member with executive education, personal leadership assessments and coaching, and structured networking and mentoring opportunities. These learning experiences will support the fellow to:

  • Develop a broader institutional perspective.
  • Expand the vision of their role within their academic health center.
  • Enhance their leadership effectiveness, understanding of the business of medicine and ability to lead organizational change.


Program Objective

The Evans Fellowship is a unique opportunity for a mid/senior faculty member to develop the professional and personal skills required to lead and manage in today’s complex and fast-changing academic health center environment. This program offers a two-year fellowship of leadership training including structured coursework leading to a Masters in Business Administration (MBA) from the IU Kelley Business of Medicine program, extensive coaching, networking and mentoring opportunities. The program is intended to equip fellows with greater business acumen, broader organizational perspectives and deeper personal capacity to address emerging issues in the school, health care system, and society.


Daniel F. Evans, Jr., JD President Emeritus of IU Health

Evans is the former chief executive officer for the Indiana University Health statewide system. Previously, he served as President and Chief Executive Officer of Indiana University Health (then Clarian Health) from November 2002 until September 2015. Prior to Indiana University Health, he was a partner at the law firm of Faegre Baker Daniels LLP (formerly Baker & Daniels LLP) in Indianapolis. Since the organization’s inception in 1997, Evans has been active on the Board of Directors and served as its Chair immediately before his appointment as Chief Executive Officer of the health care system. Over the course of his career, Evans was also a member or chair of several other boards, including the Federal Housing Finance Board; Federal Home Loan Bank of Indianapolis Board; Methodist Hospital of Indiana, Inc Board of Directors; Methodist Health Group, Inc.; Methodist Medical Group; United States Chamber of Commerce Board of Directors and Executive Committee; American Hospital Association Regional Policy Board for Metropolitan Hospitals; Indiana Hospital Association; Indiana Public Health Institute; Indiana Health Information Exchange; Central Indiana Corporate Partnership; BioCrossroads; and numerous community organizations.

Evans currently serves as Executive-in-Residence, Office of the Dean, Adjunct Professor of Medicine and Adjunct Professor of Law at the IU McKinney School of Law.



  • must hold a MD or DO degree (or equivalent if the medical degree was obtained outside of the United States)
  • Must be dually employed with IUSM and IUHP
  • Must hold the rank of associate or full professor
  • Have some administrative experience (e.g., some level of personnel and budget management)


Application Process

Apply Now
Learn more about the application process by clicking here.

Current Fellows

2019 – 2021

Andrew Jea, MD

2018 – 2020

Alan P. Ladd, MD
Sara Jo Grethlein, MD

2017 – 2019

Ameet S. Daftary, MD

Shawn Patrick

Director of Faculty Development

Evans Fellowship in Healthcare Leadership