Nominations are now closed. 


Each year the Indiana University Board of Trustees recognizes faculty excellence in teaching through a program known as the Trustees’ Teaching Awards. Excellence in teaching is the primary factor for selection. We anticipate that approximately 50 outstanding Indiana University School of Medicine teachers will receive the award this year. We need your help identifying IU School of Medicine’s best teachers.

Tenured and tenure-track faculty and librarians engaged in teaching are eligible, as are full-time clinical faculty and full-time lecturers whose primary duties are teaching. Faculty in the IU School of Medicine who may be located at medical centers or be paid by institutions other than Indiana University (e.g., IU Health Physicians, Eskenazi Health, Purdue University, Veteran Affairs, Ball State University, etc.).


Award recipients must have demonstrated a sustained level of teaching excellence and must have completed at least three years of service at Indiana University School of Medicine to be eligible (appointed on or before 7/1/17). They must not have won the award in the last two years.  See list of last year’s award recipients below.  If you are unsure of eligibility please feel free to contact with any inquiries.


Trustees’ Teaching Award Guidelines


To view 2021 winners, please click here



To view 2020 winners, please click here


Nominations were due January 27, 2021. Winners will be announced at the Spring All School Meeting on May 5, 2021.  If you have questions, please contact


Jessica Swanson

Executive Administrative Assistant