The Indiana University School of Medicine Steven C. Beering Award honors an internationally recognized individual for outstanding research contributions to the advancement of biomedical or clinical science. The Beering Award was established in 1983, honoring the important contributions Dr. Beering made to the IU School of Medicine as its dean from 1974 to 1983. Dr. Beering was the youngest dean appointed to the School of Medicine. He went on to become the president of Purdue University, serving until his retirement on August 14th, 2000. The creation of the award was announced on June 24th, 1983 and the award is presented annually and consists of a medal and a prize of $25,000. Seven of the past Beering Award recipients have become Nobel laureates, either before or after receipt of this award.

To view the livestream of Dr. Church’s presentation, please click here.

Nomination Due: Friday November 2nd, 2018

Current Winner(s)

George M. Church, Ph.D.

The 2018 Steven C. Beering Award will be presented to George M. Church, Ph.D., Professor of Genetics at Harvard Medical School, a founding member of the Wyss Institute, and director of, the world’s open-access information on human genomic, environmental, and trait data. The Beering awardee will present his lecture on Tuesday, November 27th at the Walther Hall (R3) Auditorium, Room 203.

Please send all nominations for 2019 to  by November 2nd.  Nominations should be accompanied by a summary statement emphasizing the most important academic accomplishment(s) of the nominee, importance to biomedical or clinical science, and why you believe he/she is deserving of this honor.

Please include the following in the nomination packet:

  • Summary Statement
  • Curriculum Vitae
  • List of Key Publications
Past Winners
Year Name
2015 Laurie H. Glimcher, M.D., Stephen and Suzanne Weiss Dean of Weill Cornell Medical College and Provost for Medical Affairs of Cornell . “Stressed Out: A Novel Approach to Cancer Immunotherapy.”
2014 William G Kaelin, Jr., M.D., Professor of Medicine at the Dana-Farber/Brigham and Women’s Cancer Center Harvard Medical School. “The Von Hippel-Lindau Tumor Suppressor: Insights into Oxygen Sensing and Cancer.”
2013 Roger J. Davis, Ph.D., Professor of Molecular Medicine and Biochemistry & Molecular Biology at University of Massachusetts Medical School. “Metabolic Stress Responses”

Lauren Maric

Events Coordinator