The purpose of the scholar educator award is to recognize faculty who go beyond simply teaching and approach education in a scholarly manner. This prestigious award acknowledges faculty who approach teaching and learning from a scholarly lens. Honorees are consistently noted for their teaching effectiveness, commitment to learning, educational leadership, scholarly activity related to teaching and learning, and passion for biomedical education. These awards allow the IU School of Medicine to honor and celebrate the scholarly contributions of educators.

Current Winner(s)

2022 Awardee

Polly Husmann, PhD

The 2022 Scholar Educator Award winner is Polly Husmann, PhD. Dr. Husmann is Associate Professor of Anatomy, Cell Biology & Physiology.

Award Recognition:

One recipient will be selected per year. Each award recipient will be honored with a monetary award in the amount of $1,500 and will be highlighted on the FAPDD website.

Criteria for Award:

The awards are designed to honor educators in the IU School of Medicine community who study education and the impact that teaching has on learning outcomes. The scholar educator award will be given to one faculty member who can demonstrate excellence in teaching by way of:

  • Teaching goals and methods/philosophy of teaching statement.
  • Evidence of learning.
  • Teaching innovations.
  • Continual professional development as educator.
  • Educational leadership.
  • Evidence of teaching effectiveness (data from evaluations).
  • Serving as a catalyst for the enhancement of teaching.
  • Teaching publications.
  • Teaching presentations.
  • Teaching grants.
  • Teaching awards.


Eligibility for Nomination:

Any full, part-time or volunteer faculty member who has taught in the IU School of Medicine for at least three years is eligible. Past years winners of the award are not eligible. Faculty who believe they meet the award criteria are asked to prepare their nomination materials. An award may be conferred only once to a faculty member, however, a nomination will remain active for a three (3) year period. Candidates will be invited to update their nomination packet but will not be required to do so. While not required, it is recommended that candidates update their nomination materials.

Nomination Packet and Procedures:

There will be an open call for nominations in newletters, electronic list serves, and via the FAPDD website. Nominations should be submitted via the button below.

The nomination packet must include:

  1. No more than a two page typed letter from the candidate, which should provide a summary of the ways in which he/she meets the stated criteria.
  2. A one to two-page philosophy of teaching statement prepared by the candidate.
  3. A summary of teaching evaluations from no less than the past three years.
  4. Two to three letters of support: at least one from a former or current learner and one from the candidate’s chair or center/division director. The letters should provide examples of how the candidate has excelled as a scholarly teacher and the impact his/her teaching has had on the career development and success of others.
  5. A copy of the candidate’s CV.
  6. Copies of no more than two teaching-related publications.
  7. Photo of the candidate in jpg format, which will be added to the FAPDD webpage.


Selection Committee:

Nominations will be reviewed and selected by the IU School of Medicine Teaching Awards Committee members.


Nominations are due July 10.


Award winners will be announced at the Fall All School Meeting.

Past Winners
Year Name
2021 Winner Jessica Byram, PhD, Assistant Professor of Anatomy, Cell Biology & Physiology
2020 Winner Dylan Cooper, MD, Executive Director of the Simulation Center at Fairbanks Hall and Professor of Clinical Emergency Medicine.
2019 Winner Christen K. Dilly, MD, Assistant Professor of Medicine
2018 Winner Gabriel T. Bosslet, MD, Assistant Dean for Faculty Affairs and Professional Development, Associate Professor of Clinical Medicine and of Clinical Neurology, Director, Fellowship in Pulmonary and Critical Care Medicine
2017 Winner Richard B. Gunderman, M.D., Ph.D., IUPUI Chancellor’s Professor, John A. Campbell Professor of Radiology, Professor of Radiology & Imaging Sciences, Professor of Pediatrics, Professor of Medical Education, Professor of Philosophy, School of Liberal Arts, Professor of Medical Humanities & Health Studies, School of Liberal Arts
2016 Winner Joseph S. Turner, M.D., Director, Assistant Professor of Clinical Emergency Medicine
2015 Winner Mark W. Braun, M.D., Director, Medical Pathology, Medical Sciences Program, Professor of Medical Pathology, Medical Sciences Program
2014 Winner Valerie D. O’Loughlin, Ph.D., Associate Professor of Anatomy & Cell Biology, Medical Sciences Program, Director, Undergraduate Studies, Medical Sciences Program