Dr. and Mrs. Guey C. Mark created the endowed Mark Brothers Lectureship to recognize nationally and internationally renowned medical scientists of Asian descent. The Mark Brothers Award was established in 1997 in honor of Dr. Mark’s brothers, who immigrated from Canton and settled in South Bend, Indiana, where they built a successful restaurant business. The brothers, because of their reverence and respect for higher education, supported their youngest brother, Dr. Mark, in his pursuit of a career in medicine. The award is presented annually and consists of a plaque and a prize of $4,000. Dr. Mark was a member of the Indiana University School of Medicine’s Class of 1954 and he passed away August 4, 2010.

Nomination Due: Saturday November 3rd, 2018

Current Winner(s)

2017 Mark Brother Award Winner

Augustine M.K. Choi, M.D.

The 2017 Mark Brothers Award will be presented to Augustine M.K. Choi, M.D., Sanford I. Weill Chairman of Medicine, Joan and Sanford I. Weill Department of Medicine, Weill Cornell Medical College. The Mark Brothers awardee will present his lecture “Can inhaled carbon monoxide at physiologic dose be a therapy in human disease?” on Monday, March 6 from 3 p.m. to 4:15 p.m. at the Walther Hall (R3) Room 203. Reception immediately following.

Click Here to watch the live stream presentation.

Please send all nominations for 2019 to fapdd@iupui.edu by date TBD.  Nominations should be accompanied by a summary statement emphasizing the most important academic accomplishment(s) of the nominee, importance to biomedical or clinical science, and why you believe he/she is deserving of this honor.

Please include the following in the nomination packet:

  • Summary Statement
  • Curriculum Vitae
  • List of Key Publications

For questions, please contact Lauren Maric, Events Coordinator for IU School of Medicine Faculty Affairs, Professional Development, and Diversity at fapdd@iupui.edu or call (317) 278-3089.

Past Winners
Year Name
2015 Kun-Liang Guan, Ph.D., Distinguished Professor, Department of Pharmacology and Moores Cancer Center, University of California, San Diego.
2014 Dean Y. Li, M.D. Ph.D., Associate Vice President for Research and Chief Scientific Officer, Health Sciences; Vice Dean for Research, School of Medicine; Director, University of Utah Molecular Medicine (U2M2) Program; HA and Edna Benning Endowed Professor of Medicine and Cardiology, University of Utah
2013 Jayakrishna Ambati, MD, Professor of Ophthalmology & Visual Sciences and Physiology at the University of Kentucky

Lauren Maric

Events Coordinator