Chair, Ophthalmology

The Indiana University School of Medicine seeks a visionary academic leader as Department Chair of Ophthalmology. The successful candidate will have a strong background in academic leadership across the tripartite clinical, education, and research missions. Additional qualifications include a national reputation in Ophthalmology, a record of scholarship and/or externally funded research in the discipline, and documented success leading strategic initiatives. The administrative expectations include leadership of the faculty, staff, and learners such as programmatic oversight, faculty recruitment, and fiscal responsibilities.

The Indiana University Department of Ophthalmology was founded in 1908. In the spring of 2007, the Department of Ophthalmology announced the gift of $30 million dollars from Eugene and Marilyn Glick for the creation of the Eugene and Marilyn Glick Eye Institute ($20 million) and creation of a research endowment ($10 million). Opened in 2011, the Eugene and Marilyn Glick Eye Institute is a four-story, 77,000 square foot building that provides research, clinical, education and administrative space. The Department boasts strong basic, translational and clinical research programs, which are supported with over $15 million in NIH grants over the last 3 years as well as funding from other agencies and industry. Primary areas of research include glaucoma, age-related macular degeneration, diabetic retinopathy and ocular tumors. Researchers take advantage of well-equipped facilities for molecular, cellular, organism-level studies of the visual system, and clinical research.  The department operates clinics at Eskenazi Health and IU Health.

The Indiana University School of Medicine (IUSM) is the only allopathic medical school in the state and a national leader and innovator in medical education, research, and clinical care. IUSM educates nearly 1,600 medical and graduate degree students on nine campuses in Indiana. In 2014-2015, IUSM faculty were awarded 1,571 research grants, totaling more than $300 million.

IUSM is located in Indianapolis, the 14th largest city in the nation and the state capital. Forbes magazine recently listed Indianapolis as one of the 10 best downtowns in the country. The cost of living is below the national average despite tremendous growth. The city enjoys a healthy arts community, with internationally recognized symphony, opera, and ballet companies and excellent museums, including the world’s largest children’s museum. It is home to professional football, men’s and women’s basketball, baseball, soccer, and hockey teams. Visit or to learn more about Indianapolis.

Candidates interested in this leadership opportunity should visit to apply. Please include one PDF containing: (1) a short letter of interest noting key leadership experiences and (2) a curriculum vitae. The priority review deadline is Monday, October 31, 2016.

Indiana University is an equal opportunity and affirmative action employer. All qualified applicants will receive consideration for employment without regard to race, color, ethnicity, religion, age, sex, sexual orientation or identity, national origin, disability status, or protected veteran status. This institution is also a provider of ADA services.

Click here to apply

Search Committee Roster

Nicholas Barbaro, MDCo-Chair
Chair and Betsey Barton Professor of Neurological Surgery

Joseph A. Bonanno, OD, PhD, FAAO
Dean and Professor of Optometry

Marion Couch, MD, PhD, MBA, FACS
Chair and Richard T. Miyamoto Professor of Otolaryngology-Head and Neck Surgery
Physician Executive, Surgical Services for IU Health Physicians

Gary L. Dunnington, MD
Chair and Jay L. Grosfeld Professor of Surgery

Jonathan Gottlieb, MD
Executive Vice President and Chief Medical Officer at Indiana University Health

Maria Grant, MD, FARVO
Marilyn Glick Professor of Ophthalmology

Krista Hoffmann-Longtin, PhDCo-Chair
Assistant Dean of Faculty Affairs and Professional Development
Assistant Professor of Communication Studies

Rudy Yung , MD, FACS
Chief of Eskenazi Health Ophthalmology Service
Director of the Eskenazi Eye Clinic
Director of Medical Student Education and
Professor of Ophthalmology

Richard Zellars, MD
Chair and Professor of Radiation Oncology
Indiana University School of Medicine

Committee Login