Excellence in Faculty Mentoring Awards

2017 Basic Science Awardee: Stanley M. Spinola , M.D.

The 2017 Basic Science Excellence in Faculty Mentoring Award recipient is Stanley M. Spinola, M.D. Chair and Professor of Microbiology & Immunology.

 2017 Clinical Awardee: Daniel E. Rusyniak, M.D.

The 2017 Clinical Excellence in Faculty Mentoring Award recipient is Daniel E. Rusyniak, M.D. Professor of Emergency Medicine.


Mentoring among faculty at IUSM is a crucial element in sustaining a vital faculty community, promoting faculty development, and increasing faculty retention.  The creation of two annual “Excellence in Faculty Mentoring” awards at IUSM underscores the commitment to endorse mentoring within our faculty.  The purpose is to recognize the outstanding mentoring efforts of one clinical and one basic science faculty member each year who actively mentor other faculty members and learners. These prestigious awards acknowledge the time sacrifice and dedication faculty mentors devote to foster the career development and academic success of colleagues and learners in the areas of research, education, service and clinical practice. These awards allow the school of medicine to honor and celebrate the valuable efforts of faculty mentors who embody the spirit of mentoring.

Award Recognition:

Two recipients per year will be selected:  one clinical faculty and one basic science faculty.
Each award recipient will be honored with a monetary award and enter the “Society of Faculty Mentors.” All finalists will be highlighted on the “Mentoring Spotlight” page of the OFAPD website.

Criteria for Award:

The awards are designed to honor faculty mentors in the school of medicine community who exemplify truly extraordinary selflessness as they support and contribute to the career development and advancement of other faculty members and learners (students, residents, fellows, and postdocs). Faculty mentors selected for this award must demonstrate a continued commitment to fostering the intellectual, creative, scholarly, and professional development of their mentees.  Candidates are assessed on their extent, quality, and effectiveness in mentoring.

Individual faculty mentoring awards will be given to two faculty members (one clinical and one basic scientist) who consistently demonstrate five or more of the following:

  • Offer sound counsel and valuable information to their mentees in order to advance and develop the mentee’s own path to academic and professional success.
  • Generously share their valuable time to be accessible to their mentees.
  • Impart guidance and expertise in encouraging and critiquing the mentee’s research, teaching, and/or scholarly works.
  • Involve peers and mentees in publications, grants, and conferences, as well as readily share knowledge of such opportunities.
  • Encourage and include mentees in networking activities with other professionals.
  • Promote and make others aware of the contributions and value of their mentees.
  • Serve as role models for their colleagues by maintaining high standards for excellence with their own discipline and the greater institution.
  • Display evidence of mentees completing their defined projects (e.g., grants, publications, promotional goals)
  • Are recognized scholars with demonstrated success in their own area of expertise.
  • Help to create a vital faculty and engaged academic community at IUSM.

Eligibility for Nomination:

Any full or part-time faculty member in the School of Medicine is eligible for nomination for one of the two faculty mentoring awards.  Any faculty member or learner (student, resident, fellow, or postdoc) can submit a nomination.  In most cases an individual faculty or learner would nominate their current or previous mentor; however, fellow faulty members who admire the mentoring efforts of their colleagues may drive the nomination process and solicit letters from the candidate’s mentees.  An award may be conferred only once to a faculty mentor, however, a nomination will remain active for a three (3) year period. Candidates will be permitted to update their nomination materials but are not required to do so. While not required, it is recommended that candidates update their nomination materials.

Nomination Packet and Procedures:

There will be an open call for nominations in INScope, electronic list serves, and via the OFAPD website. Nominations should be submitted to the Office of Faculty Affairs and Professional Development (OFAPD) by mail or email at ofapd@iu.edu.

The nomination packet must include:

  1. No more than a two (2) page typed nomination letter for the candidate must be submitted and should include the following:
    1. Indicate whether the nomination is for the clinical or basic scientist mentor award.
    2. Provide a testimonial of how the candidate has mentored and shaped the careers of his/her mentees in terms of specific behaviors, interactions, accomplishments and their related significance.
    3. Review the criteria above as a guide.
  2. Request two to three (2-3) letters of support: at least one from a former or current mentee and one from the candidate’s chair, director, or professional colleague(s). The letters should provide examples of how the candidate has excelled at mentoring and the impact his/her mentoring efforts have had on the career development and success of other faculty.
  3. Include a copy of the  CV for the mentee(s) submitting a letter of nomination or support.  Please specifically identify which items were influenced by the mentoring efforts of the candidate.
  4. Include a copy of the candidate’s CV (or NIH bio sketch).
  5. Photo of the candidate in jpg format which will be added to the “Mentoring Spotlight” webpage.

Selection Committee:

Nominations will be reviewed and selected by the Mentoring Sub-Committee of the Faculty Development Coordinating Committee members.


Nominations are due by June 1, 2018
Award winners will be announced at the 2018 Fall Faculty Meeting

Previous Winners:

Basic Science:

2017 Winner: Stanley M. Spinola, M.D., Chair and Professor of Microbiology & Immunology
2016 Winner: Mark H. Kaplan, Ph.D., Billie Lou Wood Professor of Pediatrics and Professor of Microbiology & Immunology
2015 Winner: Raghu G. Mirmira, M.D., Ph.D., Director, Diabetes Research Center, Eli Lilly and Company Professor of Pediatric Diabetes, Professor of Pediatrics, Professor of Medicine
2014 Winner: David B. Burr, Ph.D., Associate Vice Chancellor for Research, IUPUI, Distinguished Professor, Professor of Anatomy & Cell Biology, Professor of Orthopaedic Surgery


2017 Winner: Daniel E. Rusyniak, M.D., Professor of Emergency Medicine
2016 Winner: Julie L. Welch, M.D., Associate Professor of Clinical Emergency Medicine
2015 Winner: Paul R. Helft, M.D., Professor of Medicine
2014 Winner: Mary R. Ciccarelli, M.D., Professor of Clinical Pediatrics, Professor of Clinical Medicine