Outstanding Community Engagement Award

2017 Awardee: Anna Maria V. Storniolo, M.D.

The 2017 Outstanding Community Engagement Award recipient is Anna Maria V. Storniolo, M.D. Professor of Clinical Medicine.


The Faculty Community Relations Committee (FCRC) Award for Outstanding Community Engagement was established to recognize and encourage exceptional community engagement by IUSM faculty in activities such as, but not limited to, volunteerism, community based learning or research, outreach, partnerships, and curricular engagement.

Award Recognition:

One recipient will be selected and be honored with a monetary award and be  recognized at the 2018 Fall Faculty Meeting.

Criteria for Award:

The recipient will excel in creative leadership, innovation and long-term effectiveness in advancing the FCRC’s and IUSM’s Mission and academic and clinical endeavors in the community, and will position the IUSM as a leader in the community engagement field.

The applicant should work with at least one community partner external to the University, be operating within the target community with measurable results, and have demonstrated capacity building.  Preference will be given to applicants who contribute to scholarship, teaching and/or research.  Additional criteria that will be considered include applicants who:

  • Extend the university’s core values.
  • Demonstrate a significant impact with a tangible benefit to the community.
  • Promote the well-being, health and development of the community.
  • Involve a community partnership.
  • Focus on a specific community-identified need or opportunity.
  • Foster an exchange of knowledge and expertise amongst partners.
  • Enhance opportunities for students and staff to participate in community-based learning, service and/or research activities.
  • Contribute to the enhancement of the IUSM’s reputation as actively and meaningfully engaged with its community and region.
  • Demonstrate sustained scholarship, research and significant capacity building.
  • Demonstrate long-term community engagement commitment that is measurable, relevant, sustainable, reflective and reciprocal.
  • Evidence excellent stakeholder engagemhttp://faculty.medicine.iu.edu/awards-services/awards/outstanding-community-engagement-award/ent and satisfaction.
  • Demonstrate the ability to influence public policy and practice nationally and/or internationally in relation to community engagement.
  • Evidence attraction and retention of volunteer participation.

Eligibility for Nomination:

Any Faculty member (at any level) of the IUSM who has been employed for at least 12 months may nominate someone for, or be nominated for the award.  Previous award recipients are not eligible to apply for this award cycle.  However, previous nominations are encourage to resubmit.  Self-nominations are welcome.

Nomination Packet and Procedures:

There will be an open call for nominations in INScope, electronic list serves, and via the OFAPD website. Nominations should be submitted to the Office of Faculty Affairs and Professional Development (OFAPD) by mail or email at ofapd@iu.edu.

The nomination packet must include:

  1. No more than a two (2) page typed nomination letter for the candidate.
  2. Include a copy of the candidate’s CV.
  3. Letter of Support from the candidate’s chair, director, or professional colleague.


Selection Committee:

Nominations will be reviewed and selected by the Faculty Community Relations Committee members.


Nominations are due by June 1, 2018
Award winners will be announced at the 2018 Fall Faculty Meeting

Previous Winners:

2017 Winner: Anna Maria V. Storniolo, M.D., Professor of Clinical Medicine
2016 Winner: Dan P. O’Donnell, M.D., Associate Professor of Clinical Emergency Medicine
2015 Winner: Nancy L. Swigonski, M.D., Professor, School of Public Health, Professor of Pediatrics
2014 Winner: Ernest F. Talarico, Jr., Ph.D., Associate Director for Education, IUSM-Northwest-Gary, Associate Professor of Anatomy & Cell Biology, IUSM-Nortwest-Gary