Inspirational Educator Award

2017 Awardee: Mark F. Seifert, Ph.D.

The 2017 Inspirational Educator Award recipient is
Mark F. Seifert, Ph.D. Professor of Anatomy & Cell Biology.


The purpose of the inspirational educator award is to recognize faculty who inspire their learners and motivate them to work hard and achieve more than they thought possible on their own. This prestigious award acknowledges the time and dedication faculty take to be exceptional teachers. Honorees are consistently noted for their teaching effectiveness, commitment to learning, and passion for biomedical education. Long after their experience with faculty members of this caliber, learners still recall the impact that they had on their own education and passion for medicine and/or research. These awards allow the School of Medicine to honor and celebrate the valuable efforts of educators who motivate and inspire others.

Award Recognition:

Up to two (2) recipients will be selected per year. One award will be for faculty who have been teaching 10 years or longer and the other for those who have been teaching less than 10 years. Each award recipient will be honored with a monetary award in the amount of $1,500 and will be highlighted on the FAPDD website.

Criteria for Award:

The awards are designed to honor educators in the School of Medicine community who exemplify truly extraordinary teaching. Candidates are assessed on the growth and development of learners as well as the ways in which they role model positive attributes of biomedical professionals.

The inspirational educator award will be given to one faculty members who consistently:

  •  Provide learner’s opportunity for personal growth.
  • Provide learner’s opportunity for professional growth.
  • Provide learner’s opportunity for growth in the discipline/specialty.
  • Inspires leaners to work hard and be highly engaged in their education.
  • Role models professionalism.
  • Role models humanism in medicine.
  • Serves as an inspiration for other educators.
Each award recipient will be honored with a monetary award and enter the “Society of Faculty Mentors.” All finalists will be highlighted on the “Mentoring Spotlight” page of the OFAPD website. – See more at:
Each award recipient will be honored with a monetary award and enter the “Society of Faculty Mentors.” All finalists will be highlighted on the “Mentoring Spotlight” page of the OFAPD website. – See more at:

Eligibility for Nomination:

Any full, part-time, and volunteer faculty member who has taught in the School of Medicine for at least three years is eligible. Past years winners of the award are not eligible. Self-nominations are not permitted. Any faculty member, administrator, or learner (student, resident, fellow, or postdoc) can submit a nomination. In most cases a learner would nominate a faculty member. However, fellow faulty members who admire the teaching of their colleagues may drive the nomination process and solicit letters from the candidate’s learners. An award may be conferred only once to a faculty member, however, a nomination will remain active for a three (3) year period. Candidates will be permitted to update their nomination materials but are not required to do so. While not required, it is recommended that candidates update their nomination materials.

Nomination Packet and Procedures:

There will be an open call for nominations in In-SCOPE, electronic list serves, and via the FAPDD website. Nominations should be submitted to the Faculty Affairs | Professional Development | Diversity  (FAPDD) via email at Self-nominations are not permitted.

The nomination packet must include:

  1. No more than a two page typed nomination letter for the candidate must be submitted and should provide a testimonial of how the nominee has inspired and shaped the careers of his/her learners. Review the criteria above as a guide.
  2. Request two to three letters of support: at least one from a former or current learner and one from the candidate’s chair or center/division director. The letters should provide examples of how the candidate has excelled at teaching and the impact his/her teaching has had on the career development and success of learners. Further, the chair or center/division director should include a summary of the candidates teaching evaluations.
  3. Include a copy of the candidate’s CV.
  4. Photo of the candidate in jpg format, which will be added to the FAPDD webpage.


Selection Committee:

Nominations will be reviewed and selected by the IUSM Teaching Awards Committee members.


Nominations are due by June 1, 2018
Award winners will be announced at the 2018 Fall Faculty Meeting

Previous Winners:

2017 Winner: Mark F. Seifert, Ph.D., Professor of Anatomy & Cell Biology
2016 Winner: Stephen R. Dlouhy, Ph.D., Associate Research Professor of Medical & Molecular Genetics and Associate Research Professor of Pahtology & Laboratory Medicine
2015 Winner: Kevin G. Rodgers, M.D., Professor of Clinical Emergency Medicine
2014 Winner: Richard B. Gunderman, M.D., Ph.D., Chancellor’s Professor, IUPUI, Professor of Radiology & Imaging Sciences, Professor of Pediatrics, Professor of Medical Education, Professor of Philosophy, School of Liberal Arts, Professor of Medical Humanities & Health Studies, School of Liberal Arts